top of page
  • Writer's pictureKira Richards

Q&A with Non-Binary Author and Model Jamie Windust

Updated: Mar 31, 2023

NOVA talks to non-binary writer and model Jamie Windust about navigating beauty outside the gender binary.



NOVA: How did you find your style and how has that evolved over the years?


JW: I think the style I found in my teenage years was definitely one of eccentricity, fun, frivolity. It was an homage to where I was at that point, wanting to spread my wings, be a bit broader and make more noise. It found itself through just my emotions, what I was feeling, what I wanted to express. It’s evolved alongside me. As we all evolve. It’s not necessarily tied all the time to gender identity.


One big change that I had was experiencing quite a lot of prejudicial treatment because of how I looked and that became really difficult and was something that I struggled with. I was very adamant in it not changing how I looked. But at the end of the day, I also wanted to feel happy and safe and comfortable.


What does beauty and self-expression through makeup mean to you?

Great question! My answer to this year ago would be very different to what it is now. For me, it’s just an extension of a different side of myself. My gender expression is quite different to what it used to be. It used to be hyper feminine, hyper-androgynous almost, I very firmly sat in that middle ground. I feel like it’s matured in a way. Not that it was immature, but it’s just evolved and matured in a way that is calm. I’m still comfortable with it, it still has the same energy as it used to, it just might look different. It might look more refined or relaxed.


Did makeup boost your confidence and provide a new sense of self-empowerment? How has it changed your relationship with beauty?


Yes, it did boost my confidence. I think like a lot of people, I didn’t come out as non-binary and want to express my gender identity and then instantly went straight to beauty and fashion. I used beauty and makeup to hide insecurity. I had lots of issues with skin when I was younger, so I used makeup as a way to conceal and hide. It was only then I realised there was a little bit more potential to this than masking and hiding into the background and trying to appear normal, as it were. I sensed the art form within it when I first started using it and that quickly changed its relationship.


There was definitely a period of time in my late teens/ early 20s, the height of the ‘Jamie face’ as it were, where the white makeup and the blush was a crutch. But now, I’m completely content with how I look both with or without makeup and I think that’s a journey and something people of all genders can identify with and relate to.



What are your holy grail products?


I’m just looking over at my trough of makeup! I used to work for Benefit, back before I moved to London for university, so I still have – and I’m holding it now – my Hoola Bronzer that I used when I worked there, which is probably pretty gross! But I still use that because it’s a perfect neutral.


I never thought I would be someone that would like no-makeup makeup, but I’m really into the Hourglass Hyaluronic Skin Tint for days when I want to look like there’s an effort being made. That is my absolute go to. I love it. It’s amazing.


The Mac stack mascara is an absolute must for me. Then there is my lipstick which I’m absolutely in love with and have worn for many years. It’s Tom Ford Wild Ginger. These are things I know I’ll buy forever.



What’s your best piece of advice for non-binary people who want to use makeup but are unsure where to start?


There definitely is a pressure, much again like with people of all genders, to look a certain way. With non-binary people I think there’s an assumption that androgyny is really important or you have to look this way to be non-binary but it’s completely not the case. So I’d say don’t rush, really listen to yourself, don’t do it if you don’t want to do it – don’t just do it because you feel like you need to fit in. And remember how good it feels!


21 views0 comments
bottom of page